Story Writing

In class we were asked to write a story about the last time we heard a great story. Immediately I had to think of a good story I had heard and why I thought it was a good story. In my first draft of this story I stuck to the basics, tried to explain the scene and emotion of the situation and how I was feeling towards the person telling the story, but also trying to give detail about the story.

As we continued writing our stories and editing them based on the videos we watched in class, I took out a lot of the actual story details and added more of the emotion and scenery details to help the listener understand where I was coming from. A good story should have purpose and have details so the listener feels as if they were there without being there.

This exercise definitely helped me to better understand story writing, for this sense of what is important and what is not as necessary in terms of detail and background.

Leave a Reply

